The Wrestler vs. Man on Wire: Film is not Reality

Even with the greatest documentary or fiction film it is hard to know what we have learned after watching. Whatever manonwire_scene_03is communicated is always rooted in points of view. That’s why the most objective looking films are often the ones to be most sceptical about. Film is a re-presentation of a reality which will always illude objective presentation. Film is not reality. This is clear when you see the highly stylized Man on Wire -the hand behind the camera draws attention to itself, building suspense with cinematic techniques such as compostion and contrast -never a bad thing in my book.

The Wrestler is a film that uses a documentary-style cinematic approach that doesn’t engage itself with the language of cinema  -thereby faking  a form of “realism” that I rarely take to. But particularly because of Mickey Rourkes’ performance , which is truly roaming an area somewhere between reality and fiction, it somehow works. His mountainous performance may be one of the best in decades, and is based on extreme honesty -something that is also obvious when you see this man interviewed. Every interview is boring after watching Rourke’s brutally honest answers.wrestler-294x2501

Despite Rourke’s documentary-style tour-de-force I’ll always engage more with films that reinterpret reality in its own artistic universe. Those films underline the difference between  the artistic representation and a reality that can only be accessed through the eyes of the on-looker, or lens of the filmmaker. That is cinema at its finest.

6 Responses to “The Wrestler vs. Man on Wire: Film is not Reality”

  1. cello85 Says:

    Sometimes the movies that portray realism are the ones that are particularily hard to watch, especially when its a downward spiral of sorts. Thanks for sheding some light on this film! I have a movie review blog as well, swing by if you are ever bored my friend!

  2. christiangrevstad Says:

    I had a look at Japanfilm, it’s a very professional looking site. I’ll be checking back in the future. I’ll add the link if you return the favor 🙂

    Re. realism: It’s not that I necessarily dislike all realistic looking films, but from a philophical stand point I believe it is important to underline the artificial nature of the film representation. Therefore I prefer stylized films -films in which a director’s distinct artistic signature disconnects the film from the things we see with our own eyes.

  3. Amie Wuestenberg Says:

    This was a Great blog post, I will be sure to save this in my Del.icio.us account. Have a awesome evening.

  4. rollover ira loan Says:

    hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up something new from right here.

    I did however expertise a few technical points
    using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load correctly.

    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if
    advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and
    can look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

